SEARCH YOUR SOLUTION HERE  

TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference

hello, I'm new to flash and AS3, so maybe this is a dumb question but, I have a preloader that I want to tween down the alpha and move to the next frame. I have a tween variable tweening the alpha channel down to 0 and adding an event listener that moves to the next frame. here's my code:

Code: stop(); this.loaderInfo.addEventListener(ProgressEvent.PROGRESS, onProgress); this.loaderInfo.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, onComplete); function onProgress(e:ProgressEvent):void { var loaded:Number=e.target.bytesLoaded; var total:Number=e.target.bytesTotal; var pct:Number=loaded/total; loader_mc.scaleX=pct; } function onComplete(e:Event):void { var loaderTween:Tween = new Tween(loaderOutline_mc,"alpha",Strong.easeOut,1,0,1,true) var loaderTween2:Tween = new Tween(loader_mc,"alpha",Strong.easeOut,1,0,1,true) } //************NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED************* loader_mc.addEventListener (Event.ENTER_FRAME, menuLoad); function menuLoad (event:Event):void { //trace(loader_mc.alpha) if (loader_mc.alpha==0) { nextFrame(); loader_mc.removeEventListener (Event.ENTER_FRAME, menuLoad); } } when I run the application it moves to the next frame, however I get an error code that repeats consecutively reading:

TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.
at Production_6_fla::MainTimeline/menuLoad()

and does not stop repeating. I can still run the program but this is really making everything run super slow... I commented out everything in the "if statement" seperately and evrything outside of the "if statement"to see where the problem lies. the problem is in the nextFrame(); code.

I tried to add "stage.nextFrame(); but that did not work, and Stage.nextFrame(); and gotoAndStop(2); and stage.gotoAndStop(2); and I really can't figure out what is going on... I'm banging my head against the wall on this one.