SEARCH YOUR SOLUTION HERE  

stage.stageWidth & Height not working: 1009

I've decided to start re-writing my project, but this time making the use of class files rather than nesting code inside my MovieClips.

Now it's come to the "message box" that I previously wrote, and I'm having some troubles. (note: I don't really want to download a pre-built one as my message box class end up being the backbone for several custom interfaces).

The problem is that I cannot, for the life of me, figure out why my message box class cannot access "stage.stageWidth", "stage.stageHeight", "MovieClip(root).currentWidth", etc.

I'm rather hoping that someone will be able to shed some light on what I'm hoping is a novice error. (I'm very new to using class files.. as in.. this project new).

This is the code for the working "messageBox.as":
ActionScript Code: package com.components{ import flash.display.Shape; import flash.display.MovieClip; public class messageBox extends MovieClip { public function messageBox():void { drawBacking(); } public function drawBacking():void { var rectangle:Shape = new Shape ;// initializing the variable named rectangle rectangle.graphics.beginFill(0x000000); rectangle.graphics.drawRect(0, 0, 100, 100); rectangle.graphics.endFill(); rectangle.alpha=0.5; addChild(rectangle); } public function clear():void { var num:int = this.numChildren; for (var i:int=0; i

Posted On: Friday 19th of October 2012 03:27:53 AM Total Views:  203
View Complete with Replies

Related Messages:

Papervision: Tweening Plane height   (56 Views)