SEARCH YOUR SOLUTION HERE  

Trouble with program converting decimal to binary

Hi !

I've just started programming, and I've been trying to write a program that converts a decimal number input by the user to a binary number.

Posted On: Thursday 18th of October 2012 01:32:07 AM Total Views:  261
View Complete with Replies

Related Messages:

while(true) loop trouble   (172 Views)
I'm trying to create a simple calculator that keeps prompting the user for input until the user enters the standard input ("number" "operator") and the operator = 'E'. I know in java I'd just use a while(true) loop (as I did in here), but I get the error "true undeclared." I'm new to C and am not sure what I'm doing wrong .. thanks for any help! Here is my code: Code: #include #include main() { double num; double accum; char op; printf("Initialize your Accumulator with data of the form 'number' 'S' which sets the Accumulator \ to the value of your number\n"); scanf("%f %c", &num, &op); while (1) { if (op == 'S') { accum = num; } else if (op == '+') { accum = accum+num; } else if (op == '*') { accum = accum*num; } else if (op == '/') { accum = accum/num; } else if (op == '-') { accum = accum-num; } else if ((num == 0) && (op == '/')) { printf("Can not divide by 0.\n"); } else if (op == '-') { accum = accum-num; } else if ((num == 0) && (op == '/')) { printf("Can not divide by 0.\n"); } else if (op == 'E') { printf("Value in the Accumulator = %d \n", accum); printf("End of Calculations.\n"); exit(EXIT_SUCCESS); /*exits program if user enters E*/ } else { printf("Unknown operator.\n"); } printf("Value in the Accumulator = %f \n", accum); scanf("%f %c", &num, &op); } , Originally Posted by iMalc In one of your scanf's you are correctly using %d and in the rest you are incorrectly usinf %f. That's probably the main issue. Note that you are using different data types for accum and num where it would probably make sense for them to be the same. Note that the same line, plus the printf appear in a